

Well done to the Stellenbosch University students who have been selected to attend the Internationalisation of PhD studies: YEBO! Conference - Strengthening Research Visibility and Capacity of PhD candidates

The YEBO! project is an international collaborative venture involving seven South African and five European universities. The project focuses on four core aspects:

- Internationalisation of PhD studies;
- The promotion of internationalisation of PhD studies in South Africa and Europe;
- Increasing the number of PhD students and staff trained in the internationalisation of PhD studies, and
- The facilitation of access to information relating to funding, mobility and administrative procedures of PhD programmes.

This initiative entailed a series of conferences that address various aspects of doctoral education. Each institution nominated candidates to attend the respective conferences that provide an opportunity for North-South and South-South networking and collaboration. The next workshop entitled: **Strengthening Research Visibility and Capacity of PhD candidates** takes place in Cape Town from 10 to 13 March 2020. Applications opened in November 2019 and closed on the 20 January 2020.

The conference is co-hosted by the University of the Western Cape (UWC) and Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT). The main theme of this conference is improving research visibility. Thematic foci for this conference include:

- 1. Writing a mobility grant Proposal;
- 2. Research Ethics and Integrity;
- 3. Publishing Internationally & Pitching Your Research and
- 4. Visibility of Research & the Researcher (e.g. broader impact, social media, career development).

Stellenbosch University is excited to be part of this upcoming conference for PhD candidates from across South Africa and Europe.

Participating universities in South Africa and Europe are:

- University of the Western Cape (UWC, Cape Town)
- Tshwane University of Technology (TUT, Pretoria)
- Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT, Cape Town)
- Central University of Technology (CUT, Bloemfontein)
- University of Pretoria (UP, Pretoria)
- University of Stellenbosch (US, Cape Town)
- University of Cape Town (UCT, Cape Town)
- University of Berlin (TUB, Germany)
- Vilniaus Gedimino Technikos Universitatas (VGTU, Lithuania)

- Uppsala University (UU, Sweden)
- Ghent University (UG, Belgium)
- University of Montpellier (UM, France)
- There are also three European organisations involved: CIRAD (France); EUA and the Coimbra Group.